CAIR Chapter Reps to Join National Faith Leaders at San Diego Border Action in Support of Asylum Seekers

Representatives of Muslim civil rights group will take part in solidarity action in support of ‘Love Knows No Borders: A Moral Call for Migrant Justice’

(SAN DIEGO, CA, 12/7/18) – On Monday, December 10, representatives of chapters of the Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), the nation’s largest Muslim civil rights and advocacy organization, will join hundreds of other faith leaders from around the nation at a solidarity action for asylum seekers at the U.S.-Mexico border in San Diego as part of the “Love Knows No Borders: A Moral Call for Migrant Justice” mobilization, organized by the American Friends Service Committee (AFSC). 

San Diego solidarity event participants will demand an end to border militarization and call for “humane immigration policies that respect the rights and dignity of all people.”

American Muslim leaders from across the nation -- including Sheikh Omar Suleiman, Imam Suhaib Webb, Ramon Mejia, and Yasmine Taeb -- will also take part in the solidarity event.

WHAT: Love Knows No Borders: A Moral Call for Migrant Justice
WHO: CAIR Representatives from California, Arizona, Texas, Michigan, Along with Hundreds of National Faith Leaders
WHEN: Monday, December 10, 10 a.m. (Pacific)
WHERE: Location to Be Announced Closer to Date
CONTACT: CAIR-San Diego Advocacy and Policy Coordinator Mejgan Afshan, 619-867-7514, mafshan@cair.com; CAIR-AZ Executive Director Imraan Siddiqi, 480-704-3786, isiddiqi@cair.com; CAIR-LA Communications Manager Eugene W. Fields, 714-776-1847, efields@cair.com; CAIR-SV Communications Manager Kalin Kipling, kkipling@cair.com, 916-441-6269; CAIR-SFBA Executive Director Zahra Billoo, zbilloo@cair.com, 626-252-0885; CAIR-MI Executive Director Dawud Walid, 248-842-1418, dwalid@cair.com

On the day of the nonviolent direct action at the U.S.-Mexico border, CAIR’s San Diego chapter (CAIR-San Diego) will participate in a press conference prior to the event. CAIR-San Diego will post live updates on its social media accounts and the event will be live-streamed on CAIR-San Diego’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CairSanDiego/

For more information about Love Knows No Borders: A Moral Call for Migrant Justice, visit: https://migrantjustice.afsc.org/

The event is one of many across the nation, organized by AFSC, in solidarity with immigrants in this country and crossing the border.

Between December 10 and December 18, dozens of solidarity actions will take place nationwide. Participants of this national mobilization are calling on the United States government to end the detention and deportation of immigrants, respect the human right to migrate, and end border militarization.

CAIR is America's largest Muslim civil liberties and advocacy organization. Its mission is to enhance understanding of Islam, protect civil rights, promote justice, and empower American Muslims. 

La misión de CAIR es proteger las libertades civiles, mejorar la comprensión del Islam, promover la justicia, y empoderar a los musulmanes en los Estados Unidos.

END

 

 

CONTACT: CAIR National Communications Director Ibrahim Hooper, 202-744-7726, ihooper@cair.com; CAIR National Communications Manager Naaz Modan, 202-748-4319, nmodan@cair.com

 


Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Harry Dunn
    commented 2018-12-11 20:39:46 -0500
    I think that we should take up a collection to pay the fare to fly all of the immigrants to all the Arabic countries around the world since it is Arabs who believe in Migrant Justice. Let them show us that that is truly what they believe. We are willing to give them that chance. The ball is now in their court.
  • Nichole Samson
    commented 2018-12-10 16:06:08 -0500
    No one has any rights under the Constitution who isn’t a legal citizen. Americans should not be forced to pay taxes to help those who have never paid into the system. And don’t tell me that doesn’t happen!