CAIR Files Complaints with CBP, DHS and DOJ Over Questioning of American Muslims About Religious and Political Views

CAIR logo(WASHINGTON, D.C., 1/18/2017) – The Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), the nation’s largest Muslim civil rights and advocacy organization today announced the filing of complaints with the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), and the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) over reports of systematic questioning of American-Muslim citizens by CBP about their religious and political views.

The complaints were filed in coordination with CAIR’s national office and its chapters in Florida, California and New York. The complaints outline increased scrutiny of American Muslims’ social media accounts and the contents of mobile phones, along with interrogations about constitutionally-protected beliefs.

Questions asked of American Muslims by the CPB reportedly included:

  • Are you a devout Muslim?
  • Are you Sunni or Shia?
  • What school of thought do you follow?
  • Which Muslim scholars do you follow?
  • What current Muslim scholars do you listen to?
  • Do you pray five times a day?
  • Why do you have a prayer mat in your luggage?
  • Why do you have a Quran in your luggage?
  • What mosque do you attend?
  • Have you ever delivered the Friday Prayer? What did you discuss with your community?

The Washington-based civil rights and advocacy organization urges community members to report any bias incidents to police and to CAIR's Civil Rights Department at 202-742-6420 or by filing a report at: www.cair.com/report

CAIR is America's largest Muslim civil liberties and advocacy organization. Its mission is to enhance the understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.

La misión de CAIR es mejorar la comprensión del Islam, fomentar el diálogo, proteger las libertades civiles, capacitar a los musulmanes estadounidenses, y construir coaliciones que promuevan la justicia y la comprensión mutua.

- END -

CONTACT: CAIR National Litigation Director Lena Masri, 248-390-9784, lmasri@cair.com; CAIR-SFBA Executive Director Zahra Billoo, zbilloo@cair.com, 626-252-0885; CAIR-Florida Communications Director Wilfredo A. Ruiz, Esq., wruiz@cair.com; 305-502-6749; CAIR-FL Chief Executive Director Hassan Shibly, hshibly@cair.com; 813-541-4321; CAIR-NY Executive Director Afaf Nasher, 917-669-4006, anasher@cair.com; CAIR-NY Director of Strategic Litigation Albert Cahn, 571-766-6273, acahn@cair.com; CAIR National Communications Director Ibrahim Hooper, 202-744-7726, ihooper@cair.com


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.